Kenneth S. Bates was born in Waldron, Arkansas, Scott County. He began working with the Cooperative Extension Service as Assistant in Agricultural Conservation for Perry County in July 1937. He served as Agent for several counties, including Polk County and Washington County before being appointed District Agent in 1948. Mr. Bates was appointed Assistant Director of the Cooperative Extension Service in 1952 and became Director on May 16, 1975. Mr. Bates attended Arkansas Tech and graduated from the University of Arkansas with a BS Degree in agriculture in 1937. He has done graduate work at the University of Arkansas and George Washington University, and received a Master of Science Degree from the University of Arkansas. Mr. Bates has taken an active part in Extension affairs as they affect policy and programs. He has served as chairman of the Southern Regional Directors Committee on program development and projection, as a member of the National Scope Committee on Community Improvement and Resource Development, and as a member of a special ECOP committee on Rural Areas Development. He has served as Chairman of the Extension Committee on Organization and Policy’s Advisory Committee on Cooperatives, as Chairman of the ECOP Subcommittee on Agriculture, Marketing, and Related Industries, as a member of the ECOP Legislative Subcommittee, as Chairman of the National 4-H IFYE Advisory Committee, and has served as a member of the Board of Trustees of the American Institute of Cooperation. In 1967 he was a member of a Partners of Alliance team to Bolivia and in 1970 he participated in an Extension Soybean Export Marketing Study making a trip around the world. In 1974 he served as one of the four U. S. delegates to the International Working Conference for Directors of Agricultural Advisory (Extension Service) which was held in Paris, France. Mr. Bates has received numerous recognitions and awards including being named “Man of the Year in Agriculture” in 1962 by the Progressive Farmer Magazine. In 1971 he was awarded the USDA Superior Service Award.